IPL 2023 Final Summit Clash Delayed to Reserve Day Amidst Heavy Rainfall

ipl 2023 final


ipl 2023 final
IPL 2023: This is the first time a summit match has been shifted to a reserve day in IPL history.

Dramatic Turn of Events

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 championship game between the four-time champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the defending champion Gujarat Titans (GT), which was initially slated to be played on Sunday, will instead be played on Monday at the Narendra Modi Stadium because to the city’s constant rain.

The Indian Premier League confirmed on Sunday that the final had been postponed until May 29’s reserve day Twitter. The #TATAIPL 2023 Final will now occur at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 29 at 7:30 PM IST on the reserve day. Tickets purchased in person today will be valid tomorrow. We ask that you keep the keys secure and undamaged,” the IPL said.

Relating a summit match to a reserve day is a first for the IPL. Many eager spectators in the stadium and others watching the summit match from the comfort of their homes were shocked to learn that the game had been postponed. IPL officially announced the results at around 11:00 PM, ending several rumours.

The start time for the crucial IPL 2023 final between MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings and Hardik Pandya’s Gujarat Titans remained unclear due to the constant rain.

Earlier, it was stated on CSK, and GT’s official Twitter accounts that if the game begins by 9:40 PM local time, no overs will be forfeited. If even a five-over match cannot be completed by the cutoff time of 12:26 AM local time, the game may be postponed to a reserve day on Monday.

About 30 minutes before the toss, the ground staff quickly covered the centre with two separate layers of sheets and the areas where fast bowlers would run up. Many spectators had to seek cover and retire into the stands as the intensity of the downpour swiftly worsened and was accompanied by thunder and lightning.

Mark Wood, from Matheesa Pathirana: IPL 2023’s fastest bowlers, in pictures

ipl 2023 final
Mark Wood, from Matheesa Pathirana

Speaking of the finalists, the Indian Premier League (IPL) final will be played on Sunday at the Narendra Modi Stadium. It will feature the defending champion Gujarat Titans (GT) and the four-time champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK). It will be their second straight final GT and the 10th overall for CSK.

The GT team, captained by Hardik Pandya, will be eager to defend the championship they won in their inaugural season back in 2022. CSK will be looking to win their fifth championship, and bid MS Dhoni a fond farewell since this may be his final campaign with the Yellow team, as many fans have predicted since the start of the competition.

The home team advantage belongs to the defending champions. The performance of Shubman Gill at the top has been the biggest plus for them this year. Gill has been on a tear this year, partnering with Wriddhiman Saha to piece together several strong starting stands. In the IPL 2023, Gill is presently wearing an orange cap. In 16 games, he has amassed 851 runs at an average of 60.78, with three centuries and four fifty-plus scores. His highest rating is 129. His runs have been made with a 156.43 strike rate.

The CSK will treasure Gill’s wicket, and the batsman will look to score big one final time this year and attempt to surpass Virat Kohli’s record of 973 runs in a season, set back in 2016. Even though Gill’s stats exceed the other GT hitters, they are all in excellent shape. Even if Gill fails, Saha (317 runs), skipper Pandya (325 runs), David Miller (259 runs), Vijay Shankar (301 runs), and Sai Sudarshan (266 runs) can still assist the squad to a respectable total.

GT would rather more from Miller, who has yet to be firing on all cylinders this year compared to his 481 runs in the 2022 campaign. Additionally, Sudarshan can act as a stabiliser and strong one.

CSK, on the other hand, has a lot going for them this year. The opening duo of Ruturaj Gaikwad (564 runs) and Devon Conway (625 runs), a combination of fire and ice, no-nonsense hitting and healthy strike rotation, has been their most vital asset. TThepair has accumulated 775 runs this season, including two centuries and four half-centuries stands. With Ajinkya Rahane (299 runs) and Shivam Dube (363 runs) in the middle order, CSK is also doing well. Rahane’s recent performance and Ambati Rayadu’s dismal streak cause anxiety, but they have a history of winning on large platforms and can’t be ultimately counted out.

With four ‘Player of the Match accolades, 175 runs scored, 19 wickets taken, and four ‘Player of the Match honours this season, Ravindra Jadeja has been on a strong all-around run. In the championship, Jadeja may be CSK’s most effective weapon. Fans would love to see another “Thala Show” from MS Dhoni (104 runs), who is also doing his part by capturing some massive wickets in death overs.

Gujarat Titans Squad: Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shubman Gill, Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya(c), Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami, Joshua Little, Srikar Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Odean Smith, Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishore, Pradeep Sangwan, Matthew Wade, Jayant Yadav, Dasun Shanaka, Abhinav Manohar, Alzarri Joseph, Darshan Nalkande, Urvil Patel, Yash Dayal.

Chennai Super Kings Squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Mitchell Santner, Subhranshu Senapati, Shaik Rasheed, Akash Singh, Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Sisanda Magala, Ajay Jadav Mandal, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, RS Hangargekar, Bhagath Varma, Nishant Sindhu.

More update will be read here at Rajabets!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *